DeerHack 2023

Posted on: 2023-05-21 23:48:32

The DWIT Software Club successfully conducted DeerHack 2023: Fawning Over Innovation, an all-inclusive hackathon from May 5 to May 7, 2023. The pre-event kicked off on May 4, 2023, with sessions for mentor introduction and orientation.

The event was organized for the first time to bring positive change to the Nepali hackathon culture by providing participants with the best hacker experience possible. DeerHack was able to attract participants from all over the country. The 48-hour event saw over 1200 applicants from which 80 participants from various colleges across Nepal participated.

 Teams of 3-5 participants were formed, into 18 Teams. In addition, DeerHack 2023 had four tracks for them to choose from: "Data Science and Machine Learning," "Blockchain," "Open Innovation," and "Interactive Technologies," in a 36-hour hacking period to turn their ideas into reality. Under the guidance of knowledgeable mentor panel, participants worked diligently and continuously on the projects of their choice throughout DeerHack 2023. The event witnessed some innovative solutions from the participants, who used various technologies such as machine learning, artificial intelligence, blockchain, and IoT. A prestigious panel of judges with entrepreneurs, industry experts, and highly qualified individuals were present to evaluate the projects. The

The winners of DeerHack 2023 included an overall winner and winners from each track. In addition to winners for the main category, there were winners for the best social media presence, the best volunteer, the most active mentor, and more. Along with the exciting prizes given to all the other winners, the main winners also received cash awards, gift cards, mentoring opportunities, and other helpful resources to help them advance their careers. Team Contrivers (Anupama Rai, Rojesh Shrestha, Rijan Shresha & Samip Lamsal) from Amrit Science Campus was announced winners careful consideration and evaluation by the judges. Team Code Crusaders from Vedas College was crowned the track winners of Open Innovation in the event. Under the Blockchain Track, Team Custodes outsmarted other teams. Further, Team Kripples from Kathmandu University & Team Pentagon from Softwarica College of IT & E-commerce were crowned the track winners of the Data Science and Machine Learning track & Interactive Technologies track respectively. A cash prize of Rs 50,000 was awarded to the winners, while Rs 15,000 to each track winner.